So I finally saw Warm Bodies. I’m pretty sure this was a
Sinead recommend? Anyway I wasn’t sure I could get behind the premise, but I decided
to stop thinking about it and just watch it.
I can’t tell you one movie I can compare this to. Now maybe
there are scores and scores of romantic/funny/suspenseful zombie movies out
there, and I just don’t know about them. But it was so refreshing to have no
expectations of a movie and just sit and watch it and really have no idea where
it was going.
It was quirky and funny and it didn’t involve Star Trek, an
Avenger, Superman, Spiderman or Batman.
Now don’t get me wrong. I do love my Star
Trek/Avenger/Superman/Spiderman/Batman movies. Some of them. But to see
something different and outside of the box was really fun.
We talk a lot about the book business here and how it’s
changing. Well the film industry is apparently going through some kind of flux
as well. Big studios only want to make sure fire hits but there are only so
many superhero redos and sequels you can make. Apparently Steven Spielberg had
a tough time getting Lincoln in theaters and it was almost an HBO special.
Spielberg!
So some are predicting a mass collapse if any one studio
produces multiple bombs in a row… (Not going to mention any names
cough*TheLoneRange* cough!)
Then there is the flipside with Kickstarter. Where people
can raise money independently and make the audience feel as if they are part of
making the movie. Genius! And I’m going to get to see Veronica Mars The Movie – TOTAL AWESOMENESS – and I really hope that it works. Because I love the idea of getting more variety, more movie makers and more original stories out there.
Oh and don’t get me started as to why they could make the
Green Lantern and Superman three different times but STILL there is no Wonder
Woman movie!
Come on! Who doesn't want WW back?
